

NEWS RELEASE Premier of New South Wales

2010 NSW PREMIER'S LITERARY AWARDS

Wednesday 7 April, 2010

A wide range of commentators and activists have been shortlisted for the **31st NSW Premier's Literary Awards** - one of the country's most prestigious writing awards.

The 2010 finalists include Indigenous leader Noel Pearson, Nobel laureate J.M. Coetzee, broadcaster Michael Cathcart, and Walkley Award-winning journalists Paul McGeough and Richard Guilliatt.

Premier Kristina Keneally and Minister for the Arts, Virginia Judge, today announced the shortlisted authors. They were selected from more than 560 nominations across 10 categories and have been judged by an independent panel at arms length from the government.

The awards provide up to \$310,000 in financial support and the winners will be announced at the **NSW Premier's Literary Awards Dinner** on <u>May 17</u> during the <u>2010</u> <u>Sydney Writers' Festival.</u>

"For more than 30 years, the **NSW Premier's Literary Awards** have honoured hundreds of exceptional novelists, historians, poets, script writers, social commentators and writers," Ms Keneally said.

Minister for the Arts, Virginia Judge, said the **NSW Premier's Literary Awards** acknowledged the valuable role of Australian literature in the State's cultural, economic and educational development.

"We congratulate the many talented writers, both established and emerging, who were selected this year," Ms Judge said.

"These awards recognise the value of books and reading in our everyday lives, and enable us all to identify authors we may enjoy and learn from."

NSW Premier's Literary Awards are open to all Australian writers. Past winners include Nam Le, Peter Carey, Joan London, Ursula Dubosarsky and David Malouf.

This year's Script Writing Award includes a remarkable list of world-recognised talent such as Oscar winners Jane Campion and Adam Elliot, and Cannes Film Festival winner Warwick Thornton.

Debut novelist Kathy Charles is the only author to be shortlisted in two categories for her novel *Hollywood Ending*.

Emma Jones's poetry collection *The Striped World*, shortlisted for the Kenneth Slessor Prize, is the first Australian debut poetry collection published by prestigious UK publishing house Faber and Faber.

For more details and for the full shortlist visit <u>http://www.pla.nsw.gov.au</u>.

Background facts:

In addition to the Premier's Literary Awards the State Government has provided more than \$1.4 million this year to support writers across NSW.

This includes \$280,000 for the Sydney Writers' Festival and more than \$376,000 for the network of writers' centres across the State.

We have also provided funding to a range of organisations including PlayWriting Australia (\$105,000), the Australian Script Centre Inc (\$15,000), Poets' Union Inc (\$49,000) and the Australian Writers' Guild Ltd (\$32,000).

THE NSW PREMIER'S LITERARY AWARDS 2010 SHORTLIST

Christina Stead Prize for fiction (\$40,000)

J.M. Coetzee, Summertime Random House, Australia Pty Ltd (Knopf) Richard Flanagan, Wanting Random House, Australia Pty Ltd (Knopf) Cate Kennedy, The World Beneath Scribe Publications Pty Ltd Steven Lang, 88 Lines About 44 Women Penguin Group (Australia) David Malouf. Ransom Random House Australia (Knopf) Craig Silvey, Jasper Jones Allen & Unwin

Douglas Stewart Prize for non-fiction (\$40,000)

Michael Cathcart, The Water Dreamers: The Remarkable History of Our Dry Continent, The Text Publishing Company

Graham Freudenberg, Churchill and Australia, Pan Macmillan Australia Anna Goldsworthy, Piano Lessons, Black Inc. Publishing

Richard Guilliatt & Peter Hohnen, The Wolf: how one German raider terrorized Australia and the Southern oceans in the First World War, Random House Australia (William Heinemann)

Paul McGeough, Kill Khalid: Mossad's failed hit ... and the rise of Hamas, Allen & Unwin

Noel Pearson, Up From The Mission: Selected Writings, Black Inc. Publishing

Kenneth Slessor Prize for poetry (\$30,000)

Jordie Albiston, the sonnet according to 'm' John Leonard Press Emily Ballou, The Darwin Poems Judith Beveridge, Storm and Honey Emma Jones, The Striped World Morgan Yasbincek, White Camel

University of Western Australia Press Giramondo Publishing Company Faber and Faber London **John Leonard Press**

Ethel Turner Prize for young people's literature (\$30,000)

Kathy Charles, Hollywood Ending The Text Publishing Company Richard Harland, Worldshaker Allen & Unwin Justine Larbalestier, Liar Allen & Unwin Glenda Millard, A Small Free Kiss in the Dark Allen & Unwin Kirstv Murrav. Vulture's Gate Allen & Unwin Pamela Rushby, When the Hipchicks Went to War Hachette Australia

Patricia Wrightson Prize for children's literature (\$30,000)

Penguin Group (Australia) Allan Baillie, Krakatoa Lighthouse Penquin Group (Australia) Morris Gleitzman. Grace Lincoln Hall, Alive in the Death Zone: Mountain Survival Random House Australia Ptv Ltd Richard Newsome, The Billionaire's Curse The Text Publishing Company **Gregory Rogers**, *The Hero of Little Street* Allen & Unwin Margaret Wild & Freya Blackwood (Illus), Harry and Hopper Omnibus Books

Community Relations Commission Award (\$15,000)

Abbas El-Zein, Leave to Remain: A Memoir University of Queensland Press Tim Soutphommasane, Reclaiming Patriotism: Nation-building for Australian **Cambridge University Press** Progressives

UTS Glenda Adams Award for New Writing for fiction (\$5,000)

Steve Amsterdam, *Things We Didn't See Coming*, Sleepers Publishing Kathy Charles, *Hollywood Ending*, The Text Publishing Company Andrew Croome, *Document Z*, Allen & Unwin Glenda Guest, *Siddon Rock*, Random House Australia (Vintage) Karen Hitchcock, *Little White Slips*, Pan Macmillan Australia Kirsten Reed, *The Ice Age*, The Text Publishing Company

Script Writing Award (\$30,000)

Jane Campion, Bright Star, Jan Chapman Films Kristen Dunphy & Michael Miller, East West 101: Episode 13, Knapman Wyld Television Pty Ltd Adam Elliot, Mary and Max, Melodrama Pictures Pty Ltd Fiona Seres, Tangle: Episode One, Southern Star Warwick Thornton, Samson and Delilah, Scarlett Pictures Pty Ltd Aviva Ziegler & Veronica Fury, Fairweather Man, Fury Productions

Play Award (\$30,000)

This category does not have a shortlist. This year a grant of \$30,000 will be made available to support professional development opportunities for new playwrights in New South Wales in 2011.

NSW Premier's Prize for Literary Scholarship (\$30,000)

Roslyn Jolly, Robert Louis Stevenson in the Pacific: Travel, Empire, and the Author's Profession, Ashgate Publishing Limited Philip Mead, Networked Language: Culture and History in Australian Poetry, Australian Scholarly Publishing Brigid Rooney, Literary Activists: Writer-intellectuals and Australian Public Life, University of Queensland Press

People's Choice Award

Chosen by NSW residents from the Christina Stead shortlisted books and announced at the winners' presentation dinner on 17 May. You can vote online at <u>www.pla.nsw.gov.au</u> (voting closes at midnight on 10 May).

Judges for the 2010 NSW Premier's Literary Awards

- Gil Appleton (Literary Awards Advisor)
- Caroline Lurie (Chair)
- Rhyll McMaster
- Barry Oakley
- Lucinda Holdforth
- Jill Kitson,
- Roy Williams
- Dr Brook Emery
- Judy Johnson
- Bret Walker SC
- Martin Chatterton

- Dr Jon Callow
- Margaret Hamilton AM
- Michelle Cooper
- William Simon
- Angela Schiavone
- Dr Paula Abood
- Peter Kingston
- Sandra Hall
- Dr Louise D'Arcens
- Dr Paul Sheehan
- Professor Penny Gay